Stay Away From Be Live Marien Resort in Puerto Plata Have you ever travelled to a tourist destination wishing and expecting to enjoy your time after working your butt off? Better yet, have you ever worked your butt off for a few years and paid your hard-earned dollars to go on vacation and the hotel does not deliver what the Travel Agency promised before you packed your suitcase? This is exactly what happened to me! People should be able to suit these hotels and/or travel agencies for ripping people off. Be Live Collection Marien is not even a 2-Star Hotel In late 2014, I visited Be Live, a resort in Puerto Plata (Dominican Republic), with my teenage daughter. When arrived, I was shocked to find insects and bugs all over the wall in the room. Not only that! Despite requesting two beds, the room only had one bed. It was a complete nightmare. As soon as I discovered that it was not Iu2019ve paid for, I contacted John in Toronto from whom Iu2019ve purchased the package. I wrote the following letter in December, 2014. It summarizes what happened to me and my daughter, while hoping to enjoy our vacation: u201cHi John, I am writing regarding what happened when I went on vacation with my daughter to Be Live, in Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic. As you know, when I bought the package, they were supposed to give us a room with two beds. Nevertheless, when I arrived at the hotel, there was only one bed. I was also disgusted to see a room so dirty. There were insects crawling everywhere on the wall, mold, and the sink was plugged with hair. I called the Front Desk, where the stuff (a female) said that if I wanted a cleaner and nicer room, I had to pay $45 (US) extra per day. After expressing the room wasnu2019t fit, she informed me that it was I have purchased. I asked what happened with the two beds that we were supposed to have, as I was there with my teenage daughter and we couldnu2019t sleep on the same bed. The young lady said that I have not purchased a room with double beds and promised that she was going to look into it. She advised me to check back the next day. The following day, I went to the Front Desk and spoke to Eric, who said they were going to give me two beds, but I had to wait until the next day, but nothing happened. I went back to the Front Desk and spoke to Carlos. He communicated that I have talked to John, in Toronto, regarding the hotel not providing what I had purchased. I said that Iu2019d done that already and John sent an e-mail regarding this issue. Carlos said, u201cJohn didnu2019t send any e-mail to us and is obviously lying to you.u201d That day or December 15th, I spoke to Jorge, who said he was going to look into it to give me the two beds but again nothing happened. December 16th, I came back and this time I talked to Guest Service. I talked to Andreina. Since I was getting nowhere, I took it up with the Night Manager on Duty. He wrote a note for the hotel manager to look into it. He asked whether I had talked to my representative. I said no. However, the following day, I talked to Nelson, SunWing Vacationsu2019 representative at the hotel. Nelson said that he was not my representative because I came through West Jet, so Junior was my representative. I went looking for Junior, several times, but he was never around. At the end, after failed attempts trying to talk to Junior, I went to Guest Service and they called him for me. Junior got upset that I was trying to talk to him, saying that he was not my representative but Nelson from SunWing Vacations. Junior said, u201cYou didnu2019t buy a package; you bought something individually from whoever sold it to you in Canada, so he would make more money. Now you have to take whatever the hotel gives you. You got ripped off. You have to take it up with him.u201d I went back to talk to Nelson, who said that I had no representative. I explained that I was tired from so much running around and somebody not telling the truth. Nelson said, u201cThis is not our fault. The problem is that the people who sell you the packages in Canada lie and are dishonest when selling you the packages, this way they make more money.u201d The hotel didnu2019t deliver. My daughter and I we couldnu2019t sleep on the same bed. After staying in a room so disgusting and my daughter not being able to stay in it not even for a day, asking for a full refund for the portion that I paid for my daughter wouldnu2019t be unreasonable. Attached I am enclosing some photos that I took of the room for you to see. I am hoping this is not the last time that we purchase stay accommodations through your company. You should be able to look into this matter and rectify the situation to our satisfaction.u201d We never heard from John. Curious about hearing what they had to say, April 27, 2015, I contacted him in Toronto. Here is their reply: u201cHi Carlos, Here is the answer from SunWing Vacations. Thanks, John Good Afternoon John Please pass on our response with regard to our mutual client, Mr. Sanchez Regards Lisa Further to your email, I wish to respond as follows: Mr. Sanchez, we can certainly appreciate the effort that is put forth when planning a vacation and can understand the anticipation that would be felt upon booking this time away. Therefore, we are saddened to hear of the disappointment that you and your travelling partner endured during your recent stay while at the Be Live Collection Marien. I wish to kindly advice that at SunWing Vacations, we are committed to customer satisfaction and we are proud of the reputation we have built for ourselves by providing quality products and services. . Moreover, the suppliers with whom we collaborate are amongst the most reputable in the travel industry. The above notwithstanding, we would like to apologize if any of the hotelu2019s services or facilities were not at their optimum during your stay. While any hotel may experience the occasional technical or operational difficulties, we do rely on the efficiency and professionalism of the hotel management to ensure that any such problems are promptly attended to. Mr. Sanchez, we are truly saddened to read that you felt that this property did not live up to the star rating given and we are sorry to hear of the issues you had with the room you were allocated youu2019re your arrival. However, regrettably, while we maintain our star rating on this particular property, we do still caution passengers to bear in mind that most Caribbean destinations have very different standards of living than those we are accustomed to in North America. I wish to assure you that we do have staff that frequently visits the resorts to ensure that the star rating given is meeting the necessary requirements. Please note that we have passed on your comments directly to our Product department so that they are made aware of your perspective. Kindly be advised that all hoteliers maintains a rigorous fumigation program throughout the resort. Regrettably, due to the nature of the tropical climate, it is difficult to completely eradicate insect life. Insect bites could originate from several insect types whether in or outside the accommodation, a factor over which the hotel can only exercise minimal control Also, we feel that it is noteworthy to reference the support in which we provide at the destination. We do have the services of our Destination Representatives who are present at the resorts with the main priority of assisting our clients. In instances like these, we always hope that the client will reach out to our staff in order to allow us the opportunity to step in and help out on their behalf. Granted, we also understand that there may be times where the circumstances may be beyond our direct jurisdiction or control and as such our representatives are equipped with other hotel options that may better suit the needs of our clients. We find that when our representatives are involved, many of the setbacks are rectified or very simply just by relocating the client(s) to an alternate property, generally restores their holiday experience. In light of the above and as we take all of our clients concerns seriously, we did forward your email directly to the hotelier for their review and response. They in turn have responded in which I have depicted below their response for your reference. In closing, we do apologize once again that your expectations were not met while at this property but do hope that we can have the opportunity to restore your faith in our products again in the future. Lisa Munro| Co-ordinator, Customer Relations SunWing Vacations | SunWing Vacations Tel: 416.620.4955 | Email:[email protected] 27 Fasken Drive, Toronto, Ontario M9W 1K6 Response from the resort to SunWing Vacations u201cDear Denise, On behalf of the Customer Service Department of Be Live we would like to thank you for sending us the comments from our mutual regarding their recent stay in our Hotel Be Live Collection Marien. The feedback of our customers is very important to us and we firmly believe that the quality of service that we strive for may only be reached by listening to their customersu00b4 suggestions and comments. After reviewing the records of the hotel, we know our mutual customers were assigned on arrival a room with king size bed. They requested a room change to a room with two separated beds which was programmed by reception and guest service department according to availabilities. As per the records, the customer did not contact again with front desk in order to carry out that room change. According to the operation policy of our hotel, special requests regarding room location or equipment cannot be guaranteed in advance as they depend on availabilities. Notwithstanding, our staff makes great efforts to assign a room according to the customeru00b4s preferences or to offer a room change for one of the following days. From part of Hotel Be Live Collection Marien, both contracted services and room type were provided properly, in accordance with the customersu00b4 accommodation package. We understand that any inconveniences experienced incurred in personal perceptions or misunderstanding and therefore no compensation or refund can be offered. We are working constantly to improve our product, both in service and infrastructure, but truly regret that our mutual customersu00b4 experience at our establishment in this occasion was not what they had anticipated. We trust that they will allow us a future opportunity to welcome them again at any of our Be Live Hotels worldwide. Yours sincerely, Daniela Zoehrer Departamento Relaciones Con Clientes – Customer Service Department [email protected] Livehotels.com Centro Empresarial Globalia Polu00edgono Son Noguera, carretera Arenal – Llucmajor km 21,5 07620 Llucmajor (Baleares) Espau00f1a Be Live Hotels www.BeLivehotels.com The person from the Customer Service Department was brutally dishonest. While I believe the response from SunWing Customer Relations seems sincere, I also think these travelling agencies persons are often duped. They are so quick to make an excuse on behalf of the resorts that often they donu2019t read the painful concerns of a deceived client. The response from Daniela Zoehrerand the hotelier was preposterous and insulting. The property not only did not live up to what they promised, but the hotel employees were rude, insulting and demeaning when I came to the Front Desk, several times, with my concerns. When the SunWing Customer Relations said, u201c…regrettably, while we maintain our star rating on this particular property, we do still caution passengers to bear in mind that most Caribbean destinations have very different standards of living than those we are accustomed to in North America.u201d I was never cautioned or warned about the possibility of finding insects or bugs at the hotel. Potential clients should also know that when travel agencies staff visit such resorts, they are provided better and cleaner rooms, so they get a different impression about the services these resorts offer. To say that, u201cdue to the nature of the tropical climate, it is difficult to completely eradicate insect life,u201d is preposterous. There is a difference between the vulnerability of tropical weather and not cleaning a room, which is one of the many reasons why they shutting down hotels in Puerto Plata. I seriously donu2019t know who to believe. When SunWing Vacations responded, u201cWe do have the services of our Destination Representatives who are present at the resorts with the main priority of assisting our clients,u201d it is mindboggling. During my several visits to the Front Desk, I took it up with the Night Manager on Duty. He wrote a note to ask the hotel manager to look into it. He asked whether I had talked to my representative. I said no. However, the following day, I talked to Nelson, SunWing Vacationsu2019 representative at the hotel. Nelson couldnu2019t be bothered and was extremely rude. He first said that he was not my representative because I came through West Jet. He advised me that Junior was my representative. I went looking for Junior, several times, but he was never around. At the end, after failed attempts trying to talk to Junior, I went to Guest Service and they called him for me. However, Junior got upset that I was trying to talk to him regarding my stay at the hotel, saying that he was not my representative but Nelson from SunWing Vacations. Junior said, u201cYou didnu2019t buy a package; you bought something individually from whoever sold it to you in Canada, so he would make more money. Now you have to take whatever the hotel gives you. You got ripped off. You have to take it up with him.u201d I even called my sister in Canada, so she would call John in Toronto. John tried contacting them in Puerto Plata. SunWing Vacationsu2019 representative didnu2019t help at all. He even tried convincing me that John was a fraud. Iu2019ve provided names. It might be in SunWing Vacationsu2019 best interest to follow up and fires their representative in the resort. What can I say about the hotelier and Daniela Zoehrer? They are a fraud. If you are going to make excuses because you think this is what a client, who is a victim of your deceit, wishes to hear go ahead but donu2019t insult them. u201cAccording to the operation policy of our hotel, special requests regarding room location or equipment cannot be guaranteed in advance as they depend on availabilities.u201d Is this a joke? I wasn’t requesting a room facing a certain way or close to a certain location in the hotel, the room only had one bed and it was filthy and had insects all over. The wall also had mold. They never cleaned that room. I provided several pictures to prove it. When I reserved weeks before I left Canada, they never told me that. If I would have known this and I wouldu2019ve never reserved or paid thousands of dollars before travelling to Be Live. Mrs. Zoehrer cannot say that u201cboth contracted services and room type were provided properly, in accordance with the customersu00b4 accommodation package.u201d The resort shouldu2019ve reimbursed some of the money that I paid in good faith, expecting the hotel would provide the services it promised. She cannot affirm, u201cThey requested a room change to a room with two separated beds which was programmed by reception and guest service department according to availabilities. As per the records, the customer did not contact again with front desk in order to carry out that room change.u201d This is insulting. Are you kidding me? In my letter of complaint to John, I provided different names from when I came to the Front Desk, several times, and there is a record of it. Did I make those names up? How can she say that I didnu2019t come back to the Front Desk? Maybe somebody was lying to her. But I provided names of the different people that I talked to. Did she imply that I made those names up? Be Liveu2019s obvious inadequate, poor, bad, substandard service and obvious sham is the reason why they are shutting down hotels in the area. Furthermore, it is the reason why resorts like Be Live change their names, hoping to dupe you again. If you make a reservation, in good faith, to stay at this resort, be prepared to lose money and sleep, and face frustrations once you arrive. Carlos Sanchez, Ontario, Canada

Plata Dorada Puerto Plata, Other Dominican Republic

belivepuertoplata.com/index.asp

Airline Companies